SGA Environmental Committee

Administrative Initiatives

Environmental Performance Advisory Committee (EPAC)

Picture
EPAC was formed by the Chancellor with the goal of bringing administrators, students, faculty and staff together to take action to reduce the environmental footprint of UMass. Specifically, EPAC is charged with creating the Climate Action Plan for the campus to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and eventually achieve carbon neutrality. (For more information about EPAC, visit their website at http://umass.edu/epac).

The process for creating the Climate Action Plan is underway, and EPAC seeks stakeholders, including students, to get involved with the 11 subcommittees that are working on this task. The subcommittees were formed in early November 2009. Each of the subcommittees is listed below along with the name and contact information for the chair of each committee. If you are interested in getting involved, please contact the committee chair.

EPAC Climate Action Plan Subcommittees:

Education, Outreach, and Research
Chair: Josh Stoffel; Sustainability Coordinator
Contact: jstoffel@admin.umass.edu

Green Building
Chair: Jim Cahill; Director, Facilities Planning
Contact: jcahill@facil.umass.edu

Climate Action Plan Assembly
Chair: Susan Personette; Director, Campus Planning
Contact: spersone@facil.umass.edu

Campus Emissions/Carbon Footprint
Chair: Craig Ruberti; Environmental Health and Safety Manager, Central Heating Plant
Contact: cruberti@ehs.umass.edu

Financing
Chair: Pat Daly; Director, Campus Physical Plant
Contact: pdaly@facil.umass.edu

Offsetts and Sequestration
Chair: Susanne Hale; Graduate Student Representative
Contact: shale133@gmail.com

Transportation
Chair: Glenn Barrington; Assistant Transit Manager
Contact: gbarring@admin.umass.edu

Renewable Energy
Chair: Loren Walker; Associate Director of Research and Development
Contact: loren@research.umass.edu

Energy Conservation - Infrastructure
Chair: Pat Daly; Director, Campus Physical Plant
Contact: pdaly@facil.umass.edu

Energy Conservation - Behavorial
Chair: Nell Finnigan; Eco-Rep Program Manager
Contact: nfinniga@student.umass.edu

Food
Chair: Ken Toong; Director, UMass Dining
Contact: ktoong@mail.aux.umass.edu